Hill climbs

8 08 2008

What is it with a challenge?  Why is it that when it’s blowing hard, we always want to go and train, just to see if we can?  When I’m cycling, I hate hill climbs.  They hurt, you go slowly, and you can’t rest.  It’s just an ongoing wall of pain that you have to push through.  Yet, when I finish riding, I just want to get back out and find another hill…

Anyway, I just got back from a scouting drive, looking for decent hills near the Alp de Watlington.  Well, I found a beauty.  It’s 2 miles long, snaking up a one lane tarmac road, through a forest amongst high banks and gnarled roots, and must climb about 600 metres.  It’s a bit like Hobbiton, just vertical, so it looks like a fantastic challenge.  I’m heading off to ride it tomorrow morning, and I know for a fact that I’ll hate every second of it, but just the thought of getting up it in one go makes me want to give it a shot.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

