JP Morgan Round the Island Race: Yacht racing vs. Dinghy Racing

19 06 2009

I’ve been throwing skiffs around the race courses of Europe for what feels like years.  We’ve been training from Lymington every weekend, virtually without fail, for the past 4 years.  We’ve been ordered off the water by the Coastguard twice because it was too windy, broken rigs, narrowly missed being run over by charging ferries, and generally made a nuisance of ourselves in the Solent for a fairly long time. Yet, why is it I’ve never taken part in the Round the Island race?  I’ve done a day of Cowes week, once, and that’s it.  I feel like we have done a hell of a lot in Dinghies, but when it comes to Yachts we really haven’t scratched the surface.

I guess some people just get well and truly stuck into dinghies and never branch out.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining.  I’d far prefer racing a dinghy to a yacht, but I think to count yourself as a proper sailor you need to have spent hours racing both Dinghies and Yachts, and this is one area that I’d like to add to.

If anyone has a place on a Yacht at some point this summer, let us know.  We’re tactically pretty good, Jus drives ships like his hair is on fire and I’m good at getting them going fast.  Just don’t try to get me up the mast, that’s not going to happen. 🙂

171_1

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

