New York Supreme Court orders 33rd America’s Cup to be sailed in Velencia or the southern Hemisphere

30 10 2009

The latest America’s cup news is that, thanks to the New York Supreme Court, Alinghi has to stop messing around with their fake sailing club and sail the event in either Valencia, or the Southern Hemisphere.  My personal vote goes for an event in Cape Town..

After the hearing, Lucien Masmejan said: “This is a disappointing result as we were certain that Justice Cahn’s May 2008 decision allowed the Defender to chose Valencia or ‘any other location’,” said Lucien Masmejan, Société Nautique de Genève (SNG) legal counsel. “Ras Al Khaimah has put enormous time and effort into this 33rd America’s Cup project. We thank them and feel sorry for this unexpected result out of the New York court”.

I’m no legal expert, so I wouldn’t dare to comment on the actual ruling, but I’m just happy that it has gone against Alinghi. Over the last few years, Alinghi have worked hard to ruin the reputation of the America’s Cup and have caused a backlash against sailing in general. It would be nice for them to stop changing the rules, get on the water, and sail.  Lawyers should be left well at home.

By reading this blog post you hear by acknowledge that I am indeed correct, and therefore lose any ability to sue me or anyone related to me. Or my Dogs. And you can’t take my boat either. These are my views and opinions, so you may not take legal action against me. Especially if you are Swiss…

Finally, heres a reminder to all Alinghi fans, sailors and America’s cup viewers. Alinghi are a great team and have built some beautiful boats. I’m looking forward to seeing them on the water competing at the next AC. This is what we are here for.

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 10 2009
Felix

This is great news, hopefully the race can now return to it’s former glory 🙂

We shall wait and see, let’s hope this is an end to it. Likely hood of an appeal?

30 10 2009
visser49erracing

They have appealed a number of times over these sorts of decisions. I’m no lawyer, so I don’t know the rules, but I bet they want to.

Leave a Reply

