A Titanic-esque struggle against the very angry Solent. And yes, we lose..

30 11 2007

It’s been said many times that sailing is like standing under a cold shower, tearing up money. I’ve always said this was rubbish, as sailing is far more energetic than just standing in a shower. Last weekends sailing took this to the next level, and reminded me of one of those films where the hero (me, of course) just gets continually beaten up and mocked by the bad guy (the very upset and angry Solent). This is, I feel, an accurate analogy as we spent the Saturday being repeatedly kicked in the proverbials by wall after wall of white water. Don’t worry though, I plan to get my own back next time I see something he values, a dolphin perhaps…

Anyway, we turned up Saturday morning planning a decent training session accompanied with some video footage. Sailing out, Jus hooked up to a head cam (N95 in a waterproof pouch again), we were expecting a decent breezy days training. However, as we rounded the headland, we immediately were blown flat in huge winds. 24knots, plus around 3 or 4 knots spring tide made the breeze in open water around 27 knots, with steep wind against tide waves. “Great, ok lets get a few bear aways in and see what we can learn” was Jus’ immediate comment, (censored for public viewing of course). After training for around half an hour and nailing some superb heavy wind bear aways, we decided that it was getting a little crazy and started heading for home. One problem though, we had sailed pretty close to Hurst castle, and as anyone who’s sailed around there will tell you, it gets pretty bad when it’s wind against tide. With the massive waves, we simply could not get the boat downwind, and every time we capsized, we were washed closer and closer to the open ocean. Our only choice was to take the main down, and swim it to a nearby RIB that had driven over to laugh at us. In big waves, we managed to drag the sail down, and I had to swim it over to the RIB who, very kindly, decided to stay as far away from us as is humanly possible. The problem with trying to do this is that sails sink, very quickly. After perfecting a one arm doggy paddle, I eventually reached the rib, and jumped on board to help them roll our sail. After a few minutes, Jus decided to shout at me, informing me that we had drifted a long way off in the big seas and that I’d have to swim back to the boat.

“[censored] Ok, [censored] keep [censored] rolling this [censored] sail, and I’ll [censored] swim back to my [censored] boat. [censored] sake!!!”

Ok, I’ll wrap this story up now, as the fact that I’m writing this is proof that I didn’t die, and quite frankly I don’t think you need another Titanic-esque story. Use your imagination, and watch the video…

OK, more writing coming this weekend!!

Ryan


Actions

Information

6 responses

30 11 2007
Neil

Have you got the video footatge?
Sometimes lake sailing feels safe!
Neil

30 11 2007
visser49erracing

Yep, I have it all ready to go, just needs a little editing to shorten it up a bit. Will do that tonight, and hopefully post it this evening or tomorrow morning.

How did you find the tips we gave you? Any luck with the tacks?

30 11 2007
Keith

Good website – Just came across it as I’m wondering about a 49er. Look forward to the windy video – the ‘upwind’ one is a bit dull – you make it look too easy!

30 11 2007
visser49erracing

Yeah we shot that video in fairly light winds, so it’s not the most interesting but it was good for training purposes. The heavy wind stuff is from a head mount, is is far more interesting, including a few flying dismounts…

Definately go for a 49er, they are amazing boats, by far the best we have both sailed. We have our second boat up for sale if you are at all interested…

30 11 2007
Neil

Hey
Yeah I sailed in a bit of breeze since and the tacks are definitely getting there
Beat Tom Peels brother doin some practice races the other week so i’m happy
Keep it coming!

3 12 2007
sandwich maker

have to say I’m very glad you’re still alive….sounds like it was a bit hairy at the weekend and i would be out of a job if you died! kisses xxxxxx

Leave a comment